LWV of Rockland County Logo
Empowering Voters. Defending Democracy    JOINDONATE
LWV of Rockland County Logo
Empowering Voters. Defending Democracy    JOINDONATE

History of LWV Rockland County

History of the LWV Rockland County


  • 1940s – The first league to form in Rockland was in Nyack. It was started by the actress Helen Hayes.Photo of LWV of Rockland County women holding league banner celebrating sufragettes
  • Became part of the Clarkstown/Orangetown League which had been formed in 1951.
  • 1966 – Town of Ramapo worked on Planning and Zoning
  • Late 1960’s – Joined the UN in a study of China
  • 1973 – Merged with Town of Ramapo League to become the Tri-Town League.
  • 1979 – The North Rockland League (Stony Point and Haverstraw) started in1969 merged with Tri- Town to become the Rockland County League.
  • 1995 – 75th anniversary of the 19th Amendment. RCLWV was active on the Commission on Women’s issues and led a parade dressed as Suffragists.


A major issue that the League undertook was the governance of Rockland County.

  • The County of Rockland consists of 5 towns. Historically, each was governed by a town supervisor. They met periodically to determine county affairs.
  • Since the population varied widely between the towns (Stony Point approx.11,000, Ramapo over.70,000) the Rockland League determined that this was inequitable and that change was needed.
  • They took the case to the US Supreme Court charging that the situation denied the right of one-person-one vote. The League won the case in 1971 and the County Legislature was established. It consists of 17 members, based on population.


  • Establishing district courts A county-wide police force Education Affordable housing Criminal Justice
  • Our greatest success, after many attempts, was the passage of a County Charter in 1984. Rockland County now has a legislature and a county executive, elected at large every 4 years. The towns continue to have their own supervisors and town councils for local affairs.